Science and technology plays a pivotal role in advancing the world we live in. China has been attaching great importance to science and technology education to cultivate innovative and high-level skilled talents. It is our responsibility to nurture science and technology talents for our fast developing country.

The Division of Science and Technology provides a holistic education and diverse opportunities for our students to explore their interests and achieve their full potentials. Our programmes consist of two general categories of traditional learning: life-related programmes including food science and technology, environmental science and applied psychology; computing/mathematics-related programmes including artificial intelligence, computer science and technology, data science, statistics, applied mathematics and financial mathematics.

Our programmes equip students with specific knowledge and skills to meet the exacting demands of respective industries and societies. They are also well rounded and aware of their responsibilities to the society from the training they received in our liberal arts curriculum. Our faculty take great emphasis on arming students with problem-solving skills and lifelong learning skills so that they are well prepared to tackle unfamiliar problems they might encounter in this rapidly developing world and excel in their future work. You are very welcome to explore our programmes and join us on this scientific journey.

Prof. Jianxin Pan
Chair Professor and Dean
Division of Science and Technology
September 2021

FDE0

Prof. Pan received his PhD from Hong Kong Baptist University in 1996, followed by his postdoctoral fellowship in Rothamsted Research of the UK (1996-1999), research associate in University of St Andrews (1999-2000) and lecturership in Keele University (2000-2002). During his academic pursuit in the University of Manchester from 2002, he was promoted as Senior Lecturer in 2004, Reader in 2005 and Full Professor in 2006. Prof. Pan had served as the Head of Probability and Statistics Group, on Senior Leadership Team of the School and the Director of Internationalization of the Department of Mathematics at The University of Manchester, UK.

Prof. Pan is an internationally renowned researcher in statistical science and his research interests are within statistical modeling, statistical learning, and data science with application to medicine, public health, finance as well as industry. He has published over 120 research articles in journals of statistics and multidisciplinary research, and three research monographs with Springer and Science Press. He was awarded fundings from various research councils including those in the UK and Europe.

Prof. Pan is a Fellow of the Royal Statistical Society, an Elected Member of the International Statistical Institute, and a Turing Fellow of the Alan Turing Institute for Data Science and Artificial Intelligence. He was the Chair of the Royal Statistical Society Manchester Group and has been serving as an Associate Editor for several prestigious academic journals. He has successfully supervised over 20 PhD students and over 50 MSc/MPhil students.

科学技术是推动世界发展的关键动力,我国历来高度重视科技教育,致力培养创新型、高层次人才,为国家培养急需的科技人才是我们义不容辞的使命。

理工科技学部为学生提供全面的教育和多样化的机会,学生可以在这里探索他们的兴趣,充分发挥他们的潜能。我们的专业分为两类,与生命科学相关的专业包括食品科学与工程、环境科学和应用心理学;与计算机科学和数学相关的专业包括人工智能、计算机科学与技术、数据科学、统计学、应用数学和金融数学。我们教授学生专业知识和技能以满足不同行业和社会的特定需求。通过博雅教育的实践训练,学生也增强了社会责任感。我们非常重视培养学生解决问题的能力以及终身学习的能力,为他们今后解决在快速发展的世界中可能遇到的问题做好充分准备,并在未来的工作中绽放光彩。欢迎了解我们的专业,加入我们的科学旅程。

潘建新 教授
讲座教授、理工科技学部院长
2021年9月

潘建新教授1996年获香港浸会大学统计学博士学位,曾任英国洛桑实验中心博士后研究员(1996-1999)、英国圣安德鲁斯大学博士后研究员(1999-2000),英国基尔大学讲师(2000-2002)。2002年加盟曼彻斯特大学,历任讲师(2002)、高级讲师(2004)、Reader(2005),2006年被聘为终身教授。潘教授曾任曼大数学学院概率统计系系主任,学院领导班子成员,及数学学院国际事务处主任。

潘教授是国际知名的统计学家,他的研究领域包括统计建模、统计学习、数据科学及其在医学、公共健康、金融及工业上的应用。在统计学及多学科期刊上发表学术论文120余篇,由Springer出版社及Science Press出版社出版学术专著3部,获得英国和欧盟研究委员会在内的多个研究资金支持。

潘教授是英国皇家统计学会会士、国际统计学会当选会员、英国伦敦图灵研究所研究员,曾任英国皇家统计学会曼彻斯特分会的主席,是多个著名期刊的编委,已成功指导20余名博士研究生和50余名硕士研究生。